2024 Bernies Tickets are on Sale Now

Annual Awards Ceremony, Dinner & After-Party

18 May 2024 from 5:30PM to 9:30PM

  • Enjoy a drink upon arrival and a two-course sit-down meal at the Royal Motor Yacht Club (RMYC) Newport, Top Deck function room.
  • Dress code: Lounge Suit.
  • Early Bird Pricing: extended until Saturday, 11 May
    • Adults $100 + 50c booking fee.
    • Table of 10 adults: $1000 + $5 booking fee.
    • Under 18s $80 + 50c booking fee.
  • Pricing: until sold out or bookings close (Monday 13 May).
    • Adults $120 + 50c booking fee.
    • Table of 10 adults: $1200 + $5 booking fee.
    • Under 18s $100 + 50c booking fee.
  • Seats are definitely limited, so please book now to avoid disappointment.


  • Our shortened presentation format will leave plenty of time for dancing and celebrating (with our DJ).
  • All guests aged under 18 must be accompanied by an adult.
  • All dietary requirements will be catered for.


Janet Dunn, Director of Member Services

Major Award Short Listed Nominees – Congratulations!

Nipper Chairman’s Award

  • Jake Clarke
  • Sam Jacobsen
  • Lulu Polgar

Tim Francis Junior Competitor of the Year

  • Sophie Clues
  • Lisa Derz
  • Sadie Maggs 
  • Tom Shrivell
  • Matilda Young

Tom Guthrie Rookie of the Year

  • Ben Carroll
  • Isabella Fleming
  • Archibald Howden-Ferme
  • Sam Morgan

Peter Dawson OAM Best New Member

  • Stewart Dean
  • Richard Eastwood
  • Adam Gaffney
  • Adam Willis

John Holland Senior – Committee Member of the Year

  • Brendan Capell
  • Gavin Clarke
  • Matt Edwards
  • Nick Rogers 

Competitor the Year

  • Oliva Clues
  • Sarah Locke
  • Maguire Reid
  • Jemma Smith
  • Pipi Te Pania

Michael King Surf Sports Team of the Year

  • U17 First Aid Team
  • Open Mens Ski Relay Team
  • U23 IRB Rescue Tube
  • Open Mens Board Rescue

Hans Trumm OAM – Award for Patrolling Excellence

  • Phoebe Savage
  • William Hutchinson
  • Elaine Krek
  • Stephen Middleton

Paul Stevens Junior Club Member of the Year

  • Sequoia Avtarovski
  • Sam Capell 
  • Alexander (Monty) Pate 

Menzies’ Educator of the Year

  • Brendan Capell
  • Jeremy Paul
  • Elaine Krek 
  • Jessica Menzies

Gary Cook Surf Sports Official of the Year

  • Mark Hayward
  • Darren Warrener

Michael Hill Memorial Trophy Club Member of the Year

  • David Rees
  • Nick Rogers
  • Lauren Budd
Photographs of all nominees will be needed ASAP
If your name is above, please send a recent, high-resolution (i.e. more than 1 MB size) photograph of yourself to the [email protected] ASAP. Thank you!
Print Friendly, PDF & Email