

NEWPORT SURF LIFE SAVING CLUB INCORPORATED ABN 56 603 611 439

Affiliated with Surf Life Saving Australia

All correspondence addressed to:

Director of Administration, <u>director-admin@newportsurfclub.com.au</u> PO Box 57, Newport Beach NSW 2106 | <u>www.newportsurfclub.com.au</u>



114th Annual General Meeting

3 pm, Sunday, 30 July 2023 | Robin Cale Room at Newport Surf Club, Barrenjoey Road, Newport

Attendees

Non-voting: Michael Bochner, Hannah Clare, Rod McGibbon, John Ringrose

Voting members: Glen Borg, James Brooks, Leanne Budd, Brett Budd, Brendan Capell, Rebecca Capell, Gary Cook, Eric Crooke, Brendan Doyle, Janet Dunn, Katie Edwards, Matt Edwards, Rob Emerson, Peter Finch, Mark Fletcher, Therese Fletcher, John Guthrie, Tony Hayes, Jack Holland, Bernie Howard, Allen Janssens, Col Maclean, Bob Major, John McInerney, Jessica Menzies, Brendan Menzies, Kieran Menzies, Doug Menzies, Sandy Menzies, Stephen Middleton, Cheryl Page, Jeremy Paul, Jan Proudfoot, Ryf Quail, Nick Rogers, Peter Rolston, John Sherman, Bob Slavin, Guyren Smith, Andrew Stevens, Liam Taurins, Darren Warrener, Sabrina Warwar

Minutes

- 1. Acknowledgement of Country
- 2. Apologies

Sophie Scamps, Rory Amon, Bev Barnes, Michael King, Ian Storey, Marty Lynch, Pete Probert, Craig Holland, Peter King, Iain Taylor, Louis Barkley, Robert Barkley, Ron Bridges, Lauren Budd

- 3. A minute's silence to honour our lost members and fellow lifesavers
- 4. Confirmation of the Minutes of the 113th Annual General Meeting

Moved: Jan Proudfoot Seconded: Guyren Smith

All in favour

5. Business arising from the previous minutes

Nil

- 6. President's welcome and summary of the 2022-2023 Season
 - Welcome to Mayor Sue Heins (who will arrive after attending Avalon Beach SLSC's AGM).
 - Welcome to Hannah Clare (Branch Member Services) and our Branch President Rod McGibbon, and all the Life Members.
 - The board's goal was to rebuild after COVID.
 - Please see the annual report for details.
- 7. Director of Finance's Report for the 2022-2023 Season
 - Jeremy Paul summarised his report.
- 8. Invitation to speak to the Report
 - Rod McGibbon: congratulations on a fantastic year in all aspects of operations: members up, finances up, preventatives up, rescues down and, of course, an outstanding competition area!
 - Greg Howard: the surf club has helped our local youth for decades, and he is in awe of what we have achieved since he joined when there were only about 10 members. Special mention to James Brooks and what he has achieved with the academy. He also applauds the Board for the last season.
 - John Guthrie: also congratulated the Board on the last season and the annual report.

9. Adoption of the Report for the 2022-2023 Season

Moved: Jan Proudfoot Seconded: Guyren Smith

All in favour

10. Election of Board of Directors

Role	Nominee	Nominated by	Seconded by
President nomination	Guyren Smith	Jan Proudfoot	Jeremy Paul
Deputy President nomination	Rebecca Capell	Guyren Smith	Jan Proudfoot
Director of Administration nomination			
Director of Finance nomination	Jeremy Paul	Jan Proudfoot	Guyren Smith
Director of Lifesaving nomination	Liam Taurins	Jess Menzies	Guyren Smith
Director of Member Services nomination	Eric Crooke	Jan Proudfoot	Guyren Smith
Director of Youth nomination	Ryf Quail	Jan Proudfoot	Guyren Smith
Director of Education nomination	Jess Menzies	Brendan Menzies	Guyren Smith
Director of Surf Sports nomination	Darren Warrener	Jan Proudfoot	Guyren Smith

• Casual vacancy for Director of Administration

Moved: Gary Cook Seconded: Guyren Smith

All in favour

Junior Activities Committee (JAC) for 2023-2024

Position	Nominee
Chairperson	Ryf Quail
Deputy Chairperson	Todd Woods
Secretary	
Age Manager Coordinator	Kalvin Stollznow
Competition Organiser	Laurellen Symonds
Clothing Officer	Nicole Fasseau
Gear Steward	Gemma Eastwood
JAC Sponsorship Representatives	Ryf Quail
Water Safety Officer	Brendan Capell

Position	Nominee
BBQ Coordinator	Gavin Clarke

- 11. Election of the Judiciary and the Honours Committee
 - Club President
 - Deputy President
 - Director of Lifesaving
 - LM: Gary Cook
 - LM: Michael King
 - LM: Brett Budd
 - LM: Doug Menzies

Moved: Jan Proudfoot Seconded: Guyren Smith

All in favour

12. Appointment of Auditor, Public Officer and Honorary Legal Officer

Auditor	BeWeiszer Accountants & Tax
Public Officer	Jan Proudfoot
Legal Officer	John Ringrose

Moved: Guvren Smith Seconded: Glen Borg

All in favour

13. Notice of Motion for Affiliation to SLSA

13.1 Affiliation

It is recommended that affiliation be sought for the 2023-2024 season with Surf Life Saving Sydney Northern Beaches Inc. (The Branch). Further that the Articles, Constitution, By-laws, Regulations and Resolutions, together with the awards and equipment of The Branch, Surf Life Saving NSW, and Surf Life Saving Australia Limited, be accepted without reservation.

Proposed: Jan Proudfoot Seconded: Guyren Smith

All in favour

14. Presentation of Club Honours Awards

10-Year National Patrol Service Award

- Therese Brennan
- Brendan Capell
- Siobhan Cooper
- Thomas Doyle
- Andrew Lefevre
- Laurence McCoy
- Nicole Penny

- Phil Pettit John Ringrose
- Keelan Smith
- Mitchell Trim
- Jean Turner-Chapman
- Jett van der Wallen
- Darren Warrener

15-Year National Patrol Service Award

- Amanda Garnham
- Ben Matthews
- Brendan Menzies

25-Year National Patrol Service Award

Ian Crutch

25-Year Long Service Award

- Rob Barkley
- Ian Crutch
- Rob Emerson
- Peter Finch
- Stephen Hatch
- John McInerney
- Doug Menzies
- Darren Warrener

National Medal

- Gary Dixon
- John Greenhill
- Kieran Menzies
- Alana Smithies
- Andrew Stevens

Outstanding Service

- Brendan Capell
- Allen Janssens
- Darren Warrener

Distinguished Service

- Peter Finch
- Brendan Menzies
- 15. General Business of an urgent nature only
 - Greg Howard asked about our clubhouse DA progress.
 - Guyren provided the following details: We have support from all local politicians; however, some organisations are protesting the protection works (rock wall) in front of the club to protect the building. It needs to be improved and has caused angst. The DA is with the state planning panel. They held a meeting in October and refused to approve the DA because another location should be considered. The council appealed the decision, and the appeal is ongoing. We are still awaiting the outcome of the appeal process. In the meantime, Council has lodged an application with the Land & Environment Court.
- 16. Meeting Closed 4:02 pm